Curriculum By Grade

Akii-gikinoo’amaading's academics revolves around seasonal cultural and sustainable practices and is drawing from competencies adapted from Weniijaanisijig Omazina’iganiwaa. This recognizes the individuality of each student, seeking to meet them where they are and allowing them to grow and actualize their fullest human potential. "Every Anishinaabe is responsible to all other Anishinaabe for the survival of our cultural spirit,and the values and traditions through which it survives. With our extended family, we retain, teach, and live our Anishinaabe way. With guidance and support from Elders, we must teach our children Anishinaabe values”. (Weniijaanisijig Omazina’iganiwaa)


Our school will increase educational equity by meeting the needs of diverse students through this individualized and holistic approach, utilizing individual learning plans developed between students and their advisors and updated each semester. Students will meet daily with their advisors and maintain the same advisor over the course of four years for continuity of support.

6th-8th Grade:

Middle school students begin with teacher led thematic units to introduce project skills and focus on collaborative learning. The curriculum will be built around traditional Ojibwe lifestyles traveling through the natural seasons for sustenance and will be structured into thematic units intertwined with traditional ecological knowledge (TEK) and cultural teachings.


9th-10th Grade:

Students have a mix of student and teacher led project-based learning to develop time management skills, and meet core credit requirements.


11th-12th Grade:

Students are responsible for managing their own independent learning plan, with focus on high level research projects, becoming active members of their community, and project mentoring younger students.

example of a thematic unit

Example of a Thematic Unit